Sage through the ages (and a little TCP)

Yesterday my partner and I enjoyed a rare, child free day, in the house. I can’t remember the last time we didn’t have to be “mum’s taxi” or general reminders of “have you finished with that?! Put it away then!” I was chatting away yesterday – as I do often, and I was replied with gentle snoring! My partner had fallen asleep. This is not rare. I must bore her (yes, her) with my incessant ramblings often!

We were invited out for a few drinks but declined. A nice home cooked meal, some wine, a bit of X Factor (yes, we are that classy!), were on the cards. We were gonna have a snuggle night without interruptions in the form of “MUUUUUUMMMMMMM the battery on my MP3 has run out” or “Mum, can I have…” (insert word here i.e chocolate or anything else which is not allowed past bedtime!) All we had to worry about were our crazy cats and whether they were trampling all over us, clawing at the sofas or flicking litter all over the carpet. (Eating the left overs of our dinner was something we had overlooked!)

Before long, replies of snores were replaced by replies of coughing. “I love you was replaced by “I can’t swallow, it hurts.”

I know this feeling. I could feel her pain. I used to suffer from tonsillitis annually from the ages of 9-26! I was offered a tonsillectomy but, attractive as the prospect of unlimited ice cream was, I was too scared. I remember nights of coughing and drinking water. I remember Mum: “Drink this sage tea.” Cue the arrival of sage dragged in from the garden. “Gargle with TCP.” Have you ever done this?! Then it requires no explanation.

Naturally, the voice of mother came out yet again last night as I recalled what she used to suggest. My partner dutifully gargled with TCP, has had plenty of fluids and is taking honey. We have throat sprays and tablets courtesy of our neighbour and I am about to go to the corner shop to buy some boiled sweets and throat sweets and yes, sage!

We are always interested in home remedies for all ailments. I find it very satisfying knowing that I have been able to make up some medicine/tea/ointment which has helped.

 

Over to you! Calling all experts in sore throats and tonsillitis! Do you have a home remedy you use? Does it work! What did your parents/grandparents used to suggest?

 

I hope to hear from you all soon – for now, the lure of sage is calling! (and TCP!)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sage through the ages (and a little TCP)

  1. Jumping_Jenny_444 says:

    I had tonsillitis when I was a teenager. I can’t remember the home remedies that I used, but I do remember when I had my tonsils taken out. I’m not sure who came up with the myth “you can have all the ice cream you want” (i saw it on a kids show once), but when I tried having one dish of ice cream it really hurt my throat! Popsicles were a lot easier to have.

    • Thank you for your reply 🙂 We have lollies in the freezer! Will offer them too. I have come home with a bag of comfort food! lethal! lol. The myth still stands about the ice cream! I have overheard children in Abi’s school talking about the benefits of tonsil removal. The benefits for them are the unlimited ice cream!

Leave a Reply

